Week 39 – For the bodybuilder inside each one of us!

Do you have a fitness goal currently? Or are you considering a lifestyle change? I know that New Year’s is when people set on a journey to transform their body and mind but… what is stoping you from starting right now? In case you haven’t noticed, I have a soft spot for fitness and health! If you set a goal whether it be to:

– start eating more nutritious food;

– uncover those abs;

– increase your overall strength; or

– all of the above.

The best strategy to start with is: Expand your health knowledge!

Everyone’s body is unique and getting to know your own body is actually the most important part! I can’t even tell you how many hours I have spent researching healthy meal plans or the benefits of cardio vs weight training and comparing my current habits to those who have reached goals I am striving for. I hired Michelle Vodrazka who helped me tremendously get on the right track by providing balanced recipes, weight training programs and an abundance of health knowledge! Once you gather all that information, you are left with applying and testing these practises to see how your body reacts.

In case you are pondering the idea or have already begun your journey, I have a few things I can share on the matter:

Nutrition: Strive for balance! Your body needs healthy fats, carbs and protein: even more so when you are physically active. If you need guidelines as to the percentage you should be consuming of each, here are apps that can be useful:

  • My Fitness Pal: allows you to log all your food as accurately as you can and assists with calculating the grams of protein, fat and carbs you consumed on a given day;
  • Fitocracy Macros: an app that will suggest an ideal balance of carbs, protein and fats depending on your goal: fat loss, maintenance or bulking.

I don’t recommend tracking food so closely as a long term option but it can be a handy tool while you transition to a different eating pattern.

Training: This will vary depending on the time you have to allocate to yourself but if you can strive to workout 3 to 5 times a week it’s ideal. Cardio is great for your heart, but if you don’t have 1 or 2 hours to run on a threadmill, why not try HIIT training for 25 to 30 minutes once or twice a week. It’s fun and research seems to support that it’s a more efficient way of working out. Weight training on the other hand can be done 4 to 5 times of week. I was pretty intimated by weights initially since I didn’t want to look masculine only to find out it’s one of the best ways to increase your strength and burn fat! Not bad, right?!

What about supplements? I only started paying more attention to them last week, to see how they could help me! So I decided to find a store in Ottawa that specializes in workout gear and supplements! That’s when I found Fitshop.ca which does have a store in Ottawa.

Woohoo.. on my way I go, in the snow might I add, and enter the shop! They had shelves upon shelves of products. As soon as I walked in, I was greeted by an employee who asked if I needed assistance. That was a relief because FOR ONCE and I do mean once I wasn’t just browsing and actually needed help. I made sure to mention I wanted the purest and most natural products available, simple ingredients and no artificial sweeteners and so on. The employees were very friendly and there to help so don’t be afraid to be clear on what you want! 

Important note: be careful when taking multiple supplements because the combination may lead to potentially harmful side-effects. Asking a professional is always a good plan!

I left with a few goodies and started integrating them in my daily routine! My favourite is the Kaizen Naturals Vanilla Bean whey protein powder, it tastes so healthy and delicious!


Here is a festive post-workout recipe I would suggest trying: 

Creamy Mint Chocolate Protein Shake

    This weekend Fitshop.ca is hosting a sale where you get 20% off everything online and in store. It’s the perfect time to stock up on all your workout supplements, vitamins, equipment and more.

    Leave a Reply

    