Week 34 – Masks down, this is a war zone people!

Breathe! Just breathe! I told myself…Oh god there is the signal, I can’t stay here! Up? Yes I should run up! Follow that guy, ahh never mind just DUUUCK! Ok, this looks like a good spot but where are they? I can’t see the dreaded yellow team! Ah ha, I see one… I better shoot first: Pow!!

Any idea what we were up to? This week’s activity is perfect for those who enjoy an adrenaline rush! You get to play with a gun and feel like you are part of a war-like video game! Are you in?

Week #34 challenge: play paintball at Commando Paintball Plus!


I imagine most of you are familiar with this game! Two teams go up against each other by shooting paintballs at one another on a designated field. This goes on until every last member of the opposite team is shot!

How can I play? Well, ideally you should gather a group of ten players or more and make a reservation. On weekends and statutory holidays, there are no minimums but there is a possibility you may not get to play if you don’t reserve! Commando Paintball is located in the east end, for directions click here!

What is included? For 50$ you get to play from 10am to around 3pm on three separate game courses. This admission cost includes:

– a paintball gun;

– compressed air;

– a protective face mask;

– coveralls;

– a belt to store additional paint balls;

– 300 paint balls;

– 2 slices of pizza and a pop! (Not everyone got two pieces though, so bring snacks)

At admission, for 16$ you can purchase an additional 200 paintballs! I really recommend you do since it costs 22$ for 200 paintballs if you purchase more later on!

What should I bring? To be on the cautious side I suggest you bring water, a small towel, a few snacks, your wallet and a camera if you want to film or take pictures! In terms of clothing, wear loose clothing like sweat pants and a hoodie. A hat and gloves are useful too! These layers are not to stay warm, you will sweat, but rather to protect yourself.

On D-day

Our group met a bit before 10 am at Commando Paintball, we signed a waiver and the instructor guided us to the main desk to pay and pick up our equipment! You may not look glamorous with all the layers on but this isn’t about looks, it’s about survival!

I didn’t really know what I was getting into and the more I spoke to the group, the more I got nervous! One said it doesn’t really hurt, the other said the paint tastes a little sweet, therefore not to worry if it gets in your mouth! All lies…

Before you start playing you are taught basic safety protocol: wear your mask at all times on the field, don’t shoot at close range and put the barrel bag over your gun when you enter any safe zone! Simple enough! Soon the group was divided in team red (my team) and team yellow (our rivals)! We were sent at opposite ends of the playing field, given the signal and then you start shooting your opponents and try avoiding getting shot!

Me and two other red team players trying to shoot our opponents

What did I think of this game? It was really fun and challenging! Paintball guns are hard to aim with but you get the hang of them with a bit of practise. The excitement of trying to eliminate someone mixed with the fear of getting hit was a pretty good thrill!

Most importantly do paintballs hurt? Technically it shouldn’t! I didn’t get shot for the first two games but in the third, I got shot twice a few seconds apart! First came the surprise factor but then the sharp sting and pain..OMG ouch, seriously what is up with this pain?! If you think tattoos hurt, then you may not like this at all! I am not sure if it was the distance or the angle but those first shots left me with large, pretty swollen and colourful bruises on my legs! Any welts you may get from playing become your battle scars, or so I was told. Most shots don’t hurt so don’t let the potential pain deter you! It’s just a hit or miss, get it? Ha ha..

Playing paintball was a really great experience and if you have an adventurous or competitive side, you will love Commando Paintball! Just grab a group of friends, family or colleagues even and once you start playing show no mercy!! Oh but don’t shoot your teammates, I may or may not have accidentally done that!! Sorry guys..

Lastly, a huge thank you to two amazing friends who covered my paintball admission cost in honour of my 21st birthday, ok ok 29th birthday! Still not sure how to thank you enough xox

One thought on “Week 34 – Masks down, this is a war zone people!

  1. Claire Paquette

    Looks like lots of fun…hopefully people don’t take the game too seriously…….
    Thanks for sharing the experience for those of us who know nothing about the game.

    Like

Leave a Reply

