Week 30 – One order of full fat ribs with extra sauce please!

Are you tired of eating the same old thing? We often get into a habit of preparing the same types of meals and, with time, boredom sets in. At that point, food often loses a bit of it’s appeal! This food routine is worst when you live alone and anyone who has knows exactly what I am talking about. When one lives alone we have the luxury of making anything we wish BUT keep in mind that whatever you prepare will easily become what you eat for the next 4 days. That is what I call a serious commitment. If you have reached the point of food boredom here are two things I recommend:

1) Invest in a freezer! This wonderful device can allow you to store leftover portions for later dates so that you don’t have to eat the same thing for days on end.

2) Look for cooking inspiration! Visit a new restaurant for meal ideas, buy a cook book or resort to the Internet for recipes.

Since I purchased a vegan cookbook, see last week’s post, I decided to go vegan this week. It was surprisingly easy and fun to change things up. I like to consume a lot of protein therefore I simply found meat alternatives such as chickpeas, beans, tempeh, edamame, vegan protein powder and so on.

All was great until I remembered what blog event I had scheduled for the week, uh oh..I am going to the Orleans Ribfest?! Well this is a little awkward but a girl’s gotta do, what a girl’s gotta do! I was just going to have to break my rule for one evening and try ribs for the first time in my life!

Week #30 Challenge: Taste freshly grilled ribs at Ribfest!

This was the first year a Ribfest was held in Orleans, it took place from September 16th to 18th, 2016 and is to be an annual event!

image

What you need to know:

Parking is challenging: the event was held off of Centrum Boulevard and nearby parking was limited. Try to get there early enough in the evening, or you may have to park further away and walk a bit. Keep in mind the walk isn’t a bad thing especially after eating so much!

Be prepared to wait: only 4 vendors were on site and it took over an hour to order. The line may be faster depending on the date and time. Friday evening around 8pm was very very busy..

Entertainment: there was a live show taking place in the eating area which was fun! Also, waiting in line with friends helped by making the wait more enjoyable!

Bring your appetite: the portions are pretty large which is why I recommend you arrive hungry. This ensures nothing will be waisted!

What did I think of the ribs? Well, I ordered a half rack of pork ribs from the Kentucky booth and it was so tasty! I don’t know if it was the fact that:

  1. I worked out right before
  2. I had to wait over an hour for the food; or,
  3. The ribs were just incredibly delicious

…but I ate every single rib in a matter of minutes! To say I was hungry is an understatement and ,unfortunately, I didn’t capture a picture in the midst of my eating rampage!

Next year, if you are looking for a meat lover’s paradise, I say give the Orleans Ribfest or any Ribfest event in Ottawa a try!

2 thoughts on “Week 30 – One order of full fat ribs with extra sauce please!

  1. Dad

    Hi Is! I always enjoy reading your blog. It’s inspiring and often serves as a reminder to do things “differently” and to seek new experiences. After all, it’s an important part of the human experience. Your birthday is coming up…anything special planned? Hi hi!

    Dad xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww merci Dad 🙂

      I agree it’s important to explore opportunities that present themselves! Even better is when you create your own opportunities, which is, in a way, what I try to do by setting these challenges!

      For my birthday? I booked a massage which I am looking forward to. I will try to come up with a special challenge that week 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

