Week 25 – I know, all they want is more Ssss…

Tic toc, Tic toc.. Here we go again! Do you sometimes feel like your life is on repeat? No matter how many times you try, it feels like you keep falling back into the same trap. You want to think that things will be different, yes surely it’s possible this time and then, of course, it fails miserably like it has on every other occasion. Life isn’t totally straightforward, and I am the first to acknowledge that there are exceptions to every rule, but I keep getting haunted by this age old and simple question:

Can single guys and gals be friends?

My heartfelt answer is: Yes, absolutely! Let’s face it, it’s not possible to be everyone’s cup of tea right? Therefore, if you get along on certain levels but aren’t a romantic match than surely friendship is in the cards.

The reality, at least what my reality has taught me, is that it isn’t possible. It always and I mean ALWAYS leads to either the loss of interest or disappointment. But wait..Having someone declare genuine interest in you sounds wonderful, no? Well actually when it’s not meant to be, it’s just plain bad news. Each friendship ends up dying and that gets incredibly discouraging when it happens continuously. Does this mean you automatically shut down at the approach of any man you don’t want to engage in a serious relationship with? No no, I don’t think so. But word of advice: tread carefully..

Perhaps one day my theory will be broken but until then I decided not to speak to single guys for the foreseeable future! Ha ha ok I am perhaps being dramatic, but I am a little stumped. For you lovely single folks, have you been able to maintain a platonic relationship with a single person of the opposite gender? or to keep things less heterosexually oriented, of the gender you are attracted to?

Now in terms of my title, you may be wondering what kind of S word I am referring to. As I am sure you guessed it, I am talking about Smoothies babyyy!! Oh and not just any smoothie, here I speak of smoothie bowls. I was introduced to my first smoothie bowl last week and I need to share this location with you guys. After all, that’s what friends do.

Week #25: Explore the world of smoothie bowls – Blended Berry.

To be honest, I didn’t actually go to the Blended Berry in person last week but I had one of their Smoothie Bowls offered as a gift and I loved it!

What’s so special about a smoothie bowl?

1- Tastes Amazing

2- It’s healthy & fresh

3- It’s very filling

4- It’s affordable (9$ and it’s worth every penny)

I tried the Greena Colada smoothie which contains all kinds of wonderful things such as avocados, pineapple, coconut, bananas, etc. Now, it tasted great but it isn’t very sweet! If you like sweet things you must try their açai bowls, they are like smoothie bowls mixed with a bit of magic which leads to an incredibly irresistible treat. I enjoyed the smoothie bowl but I loved the açai bowl I tried the week before hand even more. They are topped with fruits, granola, nut butter and all kinds of other goodies.

Where is the Blended Berry located: 298 Preston Street!

Since I was at home and craving them so much, I attempted to make my very own smoothie bowl. It wasn’t like the Blended Berry one but it was actually really delicious:



Smoothie recipe:
1/4 avocado

1 cup of unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup of frozen blueberries

1 frozen banana

1/2 cucumber cut in pieces

1/4 cup frozen berries

Place all the above ingredients in a bowl and blend everything until no more pieces are left. Transfer the smoothie in one or two bowls and use toppings of your choice. Typically you can put fresh fruits, hemp hearts, chia seeds, cocoa nibs, etc. I made Michelle’s Vodrazka Honey Orange Granola, which is the best granola I ever made, and this was my main topping. Sooo good!!

The world of smoothie bowls is now there for you to explore! I hope you will enjoy them as much as I have!

4 thoughts on “Week 25 – I know, all they want is more Ssss…

  1. Dad

    Hey Is. Like I posted on Facebook, somehow, I would expect a lot of feedback on this topic of “Can single guys and gals be friend?”. The true answer may be one of the great mysteries of the human experience. I’m sure that it’s possible…probably at first, when everything is more or less rational…but when other feeling develop…well then all hell breaks loose.

    And yes… as in the movie “Groundhog Day” quite of few of us feel as though we’re reliving the same type of situation over and over again. It may takes a lot of insight to avoid repeating past mistakes and to break patterns. Guess I’ll have a glass of wine or two (not a smoothie for me…lol) while I ponder the answer.

    Dad xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I like that hell expression! It really can go from calm to pure insanity when it comes to matters of the heart!! That’s why I recommend living under a rock! I am not serious of course 😉

      It’s true that breaking certain tendencies is hard, especially since each situation manifests itself differently and you may not even recognize the similarities! Although, in the end peoples true colours shine through and that can be a good or bad thing 🙂

      Like

  2. Faye

    YUM… I love smoothies.

    My experience with friendships with the gender of mutual attraction (lesbos for me)… If there is a one sided (but open) crush and we try to be friends… it doesn’t work. The crush doesn’t go away. I’ve been in the situation several times. If there is mutually only plutonic feelings then, Yes! It can definitely work.
    I can see how it would be different for heteros though…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

