Week 17 (Continued) – Glowing with French pride!

This weekend was busy, sooo busy! Not only was the city hosting tons of festivals but it was also Father’s Day! Don’t you love sparkling, shining, glimmering, glowing things? If you do, odds are Glow fest is something you should try!

Week # 17 – Part 2: Visit the Glowfair Festival! Or not!

On Friday night, I had the full intention of attending the Glowfair and then life happened. If you missed it as well, that’s ok, it just means it’s something new for you and I to do next year!

Knowing fully well I didn’t get enough sleep on Friday night, actually let’s make that all week, this didn’t keep me from my volunteer commitment on Saturday.

Week # 17 – Part 3: Volunteer at the Festival Franco-Ontarien!

This festival holds a very important place in the hearts of French Canadians from Ontario and all across Canada. It’s a reminder, every year, to celebrate and be proud of our heritage! This festival is meant to showcase French Canadian artists of all types including both musical and culinary arts. Everyone is welcomed! Don’t speak French? Why not immerse yourself and come for a visit. You may learn a thing or two, non?

What is there to do? The festival is held for four days (Thursday to Sunday) and each day is filled with a variety of shows and activities.

  • During the day, the focus is geared towards children with magicians, games, mascots, face painting and so on. Kids of all ages loved exploring the festival site!
  • At night, the mood changes with a more adult focused programming. Every year, new French talent is showcased and great food and drinks are served. I didn’t get to the stay for the nightlife but I hear the shows are fantastic!

Near the end of my shift, the volunteer coordinator said I could get a face painting and I jumped on that opportunity! The artists, from Kromatik face and body painting,  were beyond talented! I tried to capture their art in the below picture.

Cost: the festival passport for the entire weekend is 35$, if you wish to attend only one day you can purchase a day pass for 15$.

Also here are a few sweet guys I volunteered with that day! They were pretty hilarious and brought their French spirits with them!

image

It was a wonderful day, which ended nicely with a Father’s Day BBQ. Which brings me to wishing a Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful dads including you Dad! You inspired me to start this blog experiment and I am so thankful you did. Je t’aime xo

Leave a Reply

