Week 11 – The freedom of single life…

Before diving into my weekly post, I would like to announce the winner of the “Help Yourself to Seconds” Cookbook written and sponsored by Michelle Vodrazka an inspirational author and nutrition expert. Congratulations to…

Giveaway winner: Morgan Murphy!

For those who didn’t win, I highly recommend you have a look at Michelle’s website as there you can find excellent ressources including free recipes!

If you are single, this may resonate with you. Do you feel lonely? Or perhaps feel like everything is geared towards couples? If that is the case, you are not alone. I can’t say I always love being single, in fact some days I will admit I despise it. This feeling is absolutely normal and what is important to realize however is that being single does have advantages. When you are single, let’s face it, you have lots and lots of freedom and that my friend is a gift!

On a day when you feel you miss being in a relationship, I think it’s important to do something that makes you appreciate your life exactly how it is. In other words, do whatever it is YOU want.

Week #11 challenge (May 2nd to 8th): Embrace single life by going where the wind takes you!

What is this girl talking about? I mean exactly what it says, go anywhere you want to go imageand don’t be afraid of going there alone. Feel like a coffee? Find a new coffee shop and bring a book! Want to take advantage of the sun? Go jogging or hiking.

I had a lot of things on my plate this week with prepping for upcoming activities but amidst everything I managed to be spontaneous and do things I wanted to do all by myself:

  • When traveling to the other end of town, I took the opportunity to visit a store everyone keeps talking about: Rainbow Foods;
  • Wanted to get active in the sun after work, so I walked to the canal and back (I reached over 20000 steps that day);
  • Wanted a healthy and quick dinner option: I visited a new Farm Boy and grabbed a take-out meal;
  • Got invited to a fun taco night party, I attended solo.

imageSingle or not you won’t always find someone to do something with and there is nothing wrong with trying things you want to do alone!

Here are a few upcoming events I plan on attending and I highly recommend you do as well:

Looks like the next few weeks will be quite busy!

4 thoughts on “Week 11 – The freedom of single life…

  1. fayefaline

    Another advantage of being single is you get to have your house exactly the way you want it. You don’t have to look at that ugly-to-you piece of “art”, and find a place for extra furniture or what have you. You can cook whatever you want – and you also don’t have to worry so much about overindulging in garlic! hehe

    You can go to bed and wake up whenever you want, and not have your sleep interrupted by someone else’s schedule.

    Single people generally make way more time for their friends, go to more fun events, and “put themselves out there more”. A good way to live!

    Like

    1. prettymesmerizing

      I absolutely agree with you 🙂 All great things to consider about single life! Not to say that being committed and in love is not incredible of course. I suppose it comes down to being grateful for what you have instead of focusing on what we don’t.

      Like

  2. Dad

    You’re getting pretty good at promoting events Is. Are seeking employment promoting the city of Ottawa. Hi hi! Puis-je faire une suggestion? Je t’encourage à inviter tes lecteurs à te faire part de leurs commentaires et de partager leurs expériences en lien avec ce que tu fais, les endroits où tu vas. Ton blogue est toujours intéressant. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Like

    1. prettymezmerizing

      Ha ha… Not looking for employment currently one full-time job is enough for me! Thanks for the constructive feedback, I certainly want people to contribute any thoughts, ideas or experiences they have. I will find a way to encourage more participation. Merci xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

