Start of a new chapter…

Today is the day… I woke up much too early for a Saturday, made coffee and decided: That is it, I am starting my blog!! To be honest, this blog is an experiment of mine which I am conducting as part of a challenge to become a happier and more fulfilled individual. Like many of you, I have a lot of great things going for myself: young, healthy, excellent family support, career-oriented, financially self-sufficient but one thing I am truly lacking is a social circle. In the last few years, I have focused on my appearance, my dating life and my career but totally neglected finding friends who are in the same place in life. It’s not to say I don’t have friends I very much appreciate but I am talking about the upbeat social girl/guy friends who want to go out and meet people and just try new fun things with.

What triggered this quest you ask? Would anyone be surprised to hear it’s related to a boy? Yes of course it is!! After being patient and single for what felt like an eternity, I finally fell for a guy. I was so hopeful and so grateful to have found someone I actually deemed special. It initially was nothing but friendship, it didn’t even occur to me I might ever feel differently, but as life would have it: I fell and I fell hard. Unfortunately, this new blooming relationship filled that social void I was missing and I started attributing my new found happiness to this: oh so perfect man. I started feeling concerned I would lose him, and as a consequence the amazing feeling, that I felt I needed to prove my worth. I had started using every excuse in the book to deny I was doing this of course, funny how some distance can shed light on things right? Needless to say, the relationship was cut short and it hurt… A LOT!! This made me realize, I should NEVER give this power over my happiness to a guy, to a friend…not to anyone. I don’t know about you but I am proud of who I am. I have a big heart, a head on my shoulders and a great sense of humor therefore why feel the need to prove to others I am worthwhile? If someone in your life can’t recognize and appreciate you for you, don’t waste a month, a week not even a day on them.

Ha ha OK, back to the point. In order to get myself back on track I made a pact, a promise if you will, with myself. The objective being to develop new skills and improve myself by becoming my best friend but also to just put myself out there to meet positive, social, like-minded people I can share great times with right here in Ottawa! How can one achieve this? Well here is how I am going about it:

Each week I must set and reach a new goal such as: complete a home renovation project, volunteer, learn a new skill, attend a class, visit a new location, try a new sport… the options are endless.

My objective: to post my weekly goal and to share my experience with all of you!

If any of you have fun ideas and/or are going through a similar situation I would love to hear your thoughts and read your stories 🙂

Talk to you soon xo

Leave a Reply

